Universities (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Jawaharlal Nehru University)

Doorsteptutor material for competitive exams is prepared by world's top subject experts: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.


  • This University was one of the most important learning centres during the Pala Empire.
  • The present is the site of Antichak village, Bhagalpur district in Bihar.
  • Vikramashila was established by the Pala emperor Dharmapala (783 to 820) .
  • This University established by the Pala emperor Dharmapala during 8 - 9th Century CE.
  • Subjects like philosophy, grammar, metaphysics, Indian logic etc. were taught at this University.
  • This University was allegedly destroyed by the forces of Muhammad bin Bakhtiyar Khalji.
  • Sridhara was one of the most prominent historical figures from Vikramshila. Others were uddhajnanapada, Dipamkarabhadra, Jayabhadra, Bhavabhaṭṭa, Bhavyakīrti, Līlavājra, Durjaychandra, Samayavajra, Tathāgatarakṣita, Bodhibhadra, Kamalarakṣita


  • Sridhar or Sridhar Acharya was an Indian mathematician, Sanskrit Pandit and philosopher.
  • He was born in Bhurishresti (Bhurisristi or Bhurshut) village in South Radha present day Hooghly in the 8th Century AD.
  • He separated algebra from arithmetic.
  • He gave formula for solving quadratic equations.
  • He also proposed that if zero is added to any number, the sum is the same number; if zero is subtracted from any number, the number remains unchanged; if zero is multiplied by any number, the product is zero i.e. an exposition of zero.

Valabhi University

Image Result for Valabhi University
  • This University was an important centre of Buddhist learning during 600 CE and 1200 CE.
  • It was an important port for international trade (located in Saurashtra) . At present Saurashtra is known as Vallabhipur located located in Bhavnagar district of Gujarat.
  • Theology, Niti (Political Science, Statesmanship) , Vārtā (Business, Agriculture) , Administration, Law, Economics and Accountancy were some of the subjects taught.

Modern Universities

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • It is a public university deemed to be university for research and higher education in science and engineering, located in Bangalore in the Indian state of Karnataka.
  • This institute was established in 1909 with active support from Jamshedji Tata and Krishna Raja Wadiyar IV.
  • The University was granted the deemed university status in 1958 and the Institute of Eminence status in 2018.
  • Some of the alumni who have held significant academic and industry positions around the globe are
    • Vasudev Kalkunte Aatre [an Indian scientist and former head of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) ]
    • Kailasavadivoo Sivan (Indian space scientist and the chairperson of the Indian Space Research Organization)
    • Anuranjan Anand (Indian geneticist and the chair professor at the Molecular Biology and Genetics Unit of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research)
    • Thalappil Pradeep (Institute professor and Professor of chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at the Indian Institute of Technology Madras)
    • Subramaniam Ganesh (an Indian geneticist, molecular biologist and a professor at the department of biological sciences and bio-engineering of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur)

Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU)

The Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • This Public University was established in 1969 and located in New Delhi, India.
  • This University was named after Jawaharlal Nehru, India՚s first Prime Minister.
  • In June 1970, the Indian School of International Studies was merged with the Jawaharlal Nehru University.
  • Army Cadet College (Dehradun) , College of Military Engineering (Pune) , Military College of Electronics and Mechanical Engineering (Secunderabad) , Military College of Telecommunication Engineering (Mhow) , National Defence Academy (Pune) , Indian Naval Academy (Ezhimala) are the Defence Institutions recognised under JNU.
  • The International Student՚s Association (ISA) is an official Jawaharlal Nehru University body instituted in 1985 with a view to promote friendly relations and cultural exchange.
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship was established as a Business School under JNU on 23 August, 2018 in New Delhi.
  • Some of the alumni who have held significant academic and industry positions around the globe are
    • Ali Zeidan (Former Prime Minister of Libya)
    • Baburam Bhattarai (Former Prime Minister of Nepal)
    • Asis Datta (Indian biochemist, molecular biologist and genetic engineer)
    • Sudha Bhattacharya (Indian academic, scientist and a writer)
    • Abhijit Banerjee (Nobel Prize Winner)
    • TCA Raghavan (Former Indian Diplomat)

Developed by: