National Laboratories, Nuclear Research and Atomic Energy, Scientific and Medical Research Institutes

Doorsteptutor material for NTSE/Stage-II-National-Level is prepared by world's top subject experts: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of NTSE/Stage-II-National-Level.

National Laboratories

(Including Scientific Research Institute and Industrial Undertakings etc.)

Function of National Laboratories

The National Laboratories undertake basic and applied research with special reference to the problems of industries failing within their spheres. These refer to the problems with the work of industrial development and each having its own detailed programme of work drawn up by expert committees.

  • Birla Industrial and Technological Museum: Kolkata (West Bengal)
  • Central Building Research Institute: Rookie (U. P.)
  • Central Drug Research Institute: Lucknow (U. P.) .
  • Central Electro - Chemical Research Institute: Karaikudi (Tamil Nadu) .
  • Central Electronic Engineering Research Institute: Pilani (Rajasthan) .
  • Central Food Technological Research Institute: Mysore (Karnataka) .
  • Central Fuel Research Institute: Dhanbad (Bihar) .
  • Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute: Kolkata (West Bengal) .
  • Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants: Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) .
  • Central Leather Research Institute: Chennai (Tamil Nadu) .
  • Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute: Durgapur (West Bengal) .
  • Central Mining Research Station: Dhanbad (Bihar) .
  • Central Road Research Institute: New Delhi (Delhi) .
  • Central Salt and Marine Chemical Research Institute: Bhavnagar (Gujarat) .
  • Central Scientific Instruments Organisation: Chandigarh (Chandigarh) .
  • Indian Institute of Chemical Biology: Kolkata (West Bengal) .
  • Indian Institute of Petroleum: Dehra Dun (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Indian Toxicology Research Centre: Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) .
  • National Aeronautical Laboratory: Bangalore (Karnataka) .
  • National Biological Laboratory (in Planning) : Palampur, Kangra Dist. (Himachal Pradesh) .
  • National Botanical Research Institute: Lucknow, (U. P.)
  • National Chemical Laboratory: Pune, (Maharashtra) .
  • National Environmental Engineering Institute: Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) .
  • National Institute of Oceanography: Panaji (Goa) .
  • National Metallurgical Laboratory: Jamshedpur (Bihar) .
  • National Physical Laboratory: New Delhi (Delhi) .
  • Pulsars Research Laboratory: New Delhi (Delhi) .
  • Regional Research Laboratory: Bhubaneswar (Cuttack) , Jorhant (Assam) , Jammu and Kashmir and Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) .
  • Structural Engineering Research Centre: Rookie (U. P.) . And Chennai.
  • Visveswaraya Industrial and Technological Museum: Bangalore, (Karnataka) .

Nuclear Research and Atomic Energy

Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (Formerly the Atomic Energy Establishment) : Trombay near Mumbai (Maharashtra) .

  • Centre for Advanced Technology (CAT) : Indore.
  • High Altitude research Laboratory: Gulmarg (Kashmir)
  • Indian Cancer Research Centre: Mumbai.
  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research: Kalpakkam.
  • Physical Research Laboratory: Ahmadabad (Gujarat) .
  • Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics: Kolkata (West Bengal)
  • Seismic Research Centre: Gaurividanur near Bangalore (Karnataka) .
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research: Mumbai (Maharashtra)

Scientific Research Institutes

  • Bharat Ophthalmic Glass Limited: Kolkata, (West Bengal) .
  • Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaecobotany: Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Bose Research Institute: Kolkata (W. Bengal) .
  • Central Arid Zoo Research Institute: Jodhpur (Rajasthan) .
  • Central Coconut Research Institute: Kaserkode (Kerala)
  • Central Glass and Ceramic Research Station: New Delhi
  • Central Inland Fisheries Research Station: Barrackpore (W. Bengal)
  • Central Institute of Fisheries Technology: Ernakulam (Kerala) .
  • Central Jute Technological Research Institute: Kolkata (W. Bengal) .
  • Central Marine Research Station: Chennai (Tamil Nadu) .
  • Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute: Durgapur (West Bengal) .
  • Central Mining Research Station: Dhanbad (Bihar) .
  • Central Research Laboratory: Chepauk, Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
  • Central State Farm: Suratgarh (Rajasthan) .
  • Central Tobacco Research Station: Rajahmundry (Andhra Pradesh) .
  • Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology: Hyderabad
  • Council of Scientific and Industrial Research Institute: New Delhi.
  • Fluid Control Research Institute: Kanji Kode (Kerala) .
  • Forest Research Institute: Dehra Dun (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Indian Institute of Agricultural Research Institute: New Delhi.
  • Indian Institute of Science: Bangalore.
  • Indian Institute of Sugar Technology: Kanpur, (U. P) .
  • Indian Lac Research Institute: Ranchi (Bihar) .
  • Indian Space Research Organisation: Bangalore (Karnataka)
  • Institute of Microbial Technology: Hyderabad.
  • National Dairy Research Institute: Karnal (Haryana) .
  • National Environmental Engineering Institute: Nagpur.
  • National Sugar Research Institute: Kanpur (U. P.)

Medical Research Institutes

  • All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health: Kolkata (W. Bengal) .
  • All India Institute of Medical Science: New Delhi (Delhi) .
  • All India Malaria Institute: Delhi.
  • Central Research Institute: Kasauli (Himachal Pradesh) .
  • Haftkine Institute: Mumbai.
  • Indian Institute of Experimental Medicine: Kolkata (W. Bengal)
  • Indian Vetrinary Research Institute: Mukteshwar and Izatnagar (Gujarat) .
  • National Institute of Communicable Disease: Delhi.
  • Nutrition Research Laboratory: Coonoor (Tamil Nadu)
  • Tuberculosis Institute: Delhi.

Developed by: