Gelogical Time Scale India YouTube Lecture Handouts

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

Get video tutorial on: Examrace YouTube Channel

Geological Time Scale with Reference to India - 4 Eras & 10 Periods Explained

Geological Time Scale - India

4 eras include Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic and Cenozoic. 10 periods explained are Quaternary, Tertiary, Carboniferous, Gondwana, Upper & Lower Paleozoic, Vindhyan, Cuddapah, Dharwar and Archean.

Geological Time Scale - India Image-1
  • Documents intervals of geologic time relative to one another
  • Continuously developed and updated
  • Relative dating of periods in Earth՚s history
  • Divided on the basis of the earth՚s biotic composition
  • Phanerozoic Eon (i.e.. the Paleozoic, Mesozoic and Cenozoic Eras) : Earth՚s with advanced life forms
    • Fossils appeared in an orderly fashion in stratigraphic units.
    • Majority of fossil organisms did not match modern groups
    • Three major eras:
      • Paleozoic (meaning ancient life)
      • Mesozoic (meaning middle life)
      • Cenozoic (meaning recent life)
  • Pre Cambrian (or Proterozoic and Hadean Eras) : Before advanced life.
  • The modern Geologic Time Scale as shown above is a compendium of both relative and absolute age dating and represents the most up-to-date assessment of Earth՚s history.
India Geology Image
Geological Time Scale - India Image-2
Archean System Image
Cuddapah System
Vindhyan System Image
Paleozoic Image
Gondwana Group Image