International Security Assistance Force and Defence Institute of High-Altitude Research

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for UGC : Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 112K)

International Security Assistance Force (ISAF)

ISAF is a NATO led security mission in Afghanistan established by the UNSC in 2001. As of 2008, its troops number around 55000.

Defence Institute of High-Altitude Research (DIHAR)

DIHAR is a laboratory of DRDO located in Leh. Located at 3,500 meters above mean sea-level, DIHAR is doing pioneering research to not only improve the quality of life of our soldiers but also pass on spin-offs to civilian sectors for their benefit. It is currently working on a project of greening Ladakh with sustainable plant cultivation.

Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT)

The Global Initiative to Combat Nuclear Terrorism (GICNT) is an international partnership of 81 nations and four official observers who are committed to working individually and collectively to implement a set of shared nuclear security principles. The mission of the GICNT is to strengthen global capacity to prevent, detect, and respond to nuclear terrorism by conducting multilateral activities that strengthen the plans, policies, procedures, and interoperability of partner nations. The United States and Russia serve as Co-Chairs of the GICNT. <Launched in 2006 by Bush and Putin>

National Natural Resources Management System (NNRMS)

Est. 1983

It is a national level inter-agency system for integrated natural resources management in the country. To support the optimal utilization of country’s natural resources it adopts various advanced technologies of satellite and aerial remote sensing, GIS, precise positioning system, precise positioning systems etc. It is supported by the Planning Commission. Department of Space is the nodal agency for implementing NNRMS and its secretariat is housed in the ISRO HQ, Bangalore.


The National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), Nagpur was established in 1958. It is devoted to research and innovations in environmental science and engineering besides solving a range of problems posed by industry, government and public. It has five zonal laboratories at Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Mumbai.

World Bank

Est. 1944

  • Members: 186

  • President: Robert Zoellick

  • HQ: Washington DC

  • WB is different from the WB Group. The World Bank comprises of two institutions: IBRD and International Development Association (IDA) whereas the WB Group has these two as well as three more: IFC, Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), and International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).

  • WB is one of the five institutions created at the Bretton Woods Conference in 1944.

National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR)

  • Est. 1988

  • HQ: Vasco da Gama, Goa

  • Director: Rasik Ravindra

  • It is an autonomous research and development institution under the Ministry of Earth Sciences, GoI. It is the nodal organization for the co-ordination and implementation of the Indian Antarctic Programme, including the maintenance of India’s permanent station in Antarctica.

National Institute of Oceanography

  • Est. 1966

  • HQ: Dona Paula, Goa

  • It is one of the 38 constituent laboratories of CSIR. The focus of research is on observing and understanding the special oceanographic features that the North Indian basin offers.

Bombay Natural History Society (BNHS)

  • Est. 1883

  • HQ: Mumbai

  • It is one of the largest NGOs in India engaged in conservation and biodiversity research. It supports many research efforts through grants and publishes the Journal of the Bombay Natural History Society.

Translational Health Science and Technology

  • Under the Department of Biotechnology, GoI.

  • Research collaboration institute for biosciences. Located in Faridabad.

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

  • Est. 1942

  • HQ: New Delhi

  • Chairman: Prime Minister of India

  • Director General: Samir K Brahmachari

  • It is an autonomous body and R&D organization with 39 laboratories and 50 field stations across the nation. It has developed various technologies relating to engineering, sciences, molecular biology, chemicals, food, petroleum, leather and environment. CSIR also awards the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize for Science and Technology annually for notable research in science and technology. It is named after CSIR’s founding director Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.

Airports Authority of India

  • Est. 1995

  • By merging the international Airports Authority of India and the National Airports Authority. Manages 12 airports which includes 11 international airports. It handles the passenger facilities, maintaining and strengthening the airport infrastructure, air navigation services and security.

Quality Council of India

QCI was set up in 1997 jointly by the GoI and Indian Industry represented by ASSOCHAM, CII and FICCI, to establish and operate national accreditation structure and promote quality through National Quality Campaign. The Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion, Ministry of Commerce and Industry is the nodal ministry for QCI.

Developed by: