UK Department for International Development and Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for UGC : Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 110K)

UK Department for International Development (DFID)

  • The Department For International Development (DFID). It was separated from the 1997. The goal of the department is “to promote sustainable development and eliminate world poverty”.

  • Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS)

  • Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) is a national agency of the, under. It provides ocean information and advisory services to the society, industry, government and scientific community through sustained ocean observations and constant improvements through systematic and focused research.

Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre (PTWC)

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre (PTWC) is one of two warning centres that are operated by in the Headquartered in the PTWC is part of an international (TWS) program and serves as the operational centre for TWS of the Pacific issuing bulletins and warnings to participating members and other nations in the area of responsibility .

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a scientific agency within the focused on the conditions of the NOAA warns of dangerous, charts seas and skies, guides the use and protection of ocean and coastal resources, and conducts research to improve understanding and stewardship of the headquartered in Washington DC.

Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO)

CSTO or Tashkent Treaty is a military alliance formed in 2002. Its 7 members include: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. It grew out of the Commonwealth of Independent States framework. The members are not allowed to join other military alliances and aggression against one signatory is perceived as an aggression against all.

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

CIS is a regional organization of the former Soviet Republics established in 1991 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union. It has nine members: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Ujbekistan. It possesses coordinating powers in the realm of trade, finance, lawmaking and security.

Eurasian Economic Community (EAEC or EurAsEC)

Economic union aimed at creating common market. Members: Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

  • An intergovernmental organization of low-lying coastal and small island countries. Established in 1990, its main purpose is to strengthen their voice in addressing global climate change. It has 42 members.

  • COP15

  • The 2009 UN Climate Change Conference, also known at the Copenhagen Summit was held in Copenhagen in December 2009. At the summit, the Copenhagen Accord was adopted which recognized climate change is one of the greatest challenges and that actions should be taken to keep temperature increases to below 2-degree C. It does not contain commitments for reduced emissions that would be necessary to achieve that aim.

Integrated Defence Staff

  • The Integrated Defence Staff and associated structures have been created under the provisions of Government of India, Ministry of Defence in 2001 following the recommendations of the Kargil Review Committee.

  • It acts as point organisation for joint Manship in MoD which integrates policy, doctrine, war fighting and procurement by employing best management practices. The Chief of Integrated Defence Staff to the Chiefs of Staff Committee (CISC) will support the Chairman and the Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC) in the optimal performance of their role and functions. The present CISC is Air Marshal S C Mukul.

Strategic Forces Command (SFC)

The Indian Strategic Forces Command (or Strategic Nuclear Command) is responsible for the management and administration of the country’s tactical and strategic nuclear weapons stockpile. It was created in 2003 and forms a part of India’s Nuclear Command Authority.

Nuclear Command Authority (India)

The Nuclear Command Authority (NCA) of India is the nodal agency for all command, control and operational decisions regarding India’s nuclear weapon stockpile.

Press Council of India (PCI)

  • PCI, setup in 1966, is a statutory, quasi-judicial body in India that governs the conduct of the print and broadcast media. It adjudicates the complaints against and by the press for violation of ethics and for violation of the freedom of the press, respectively. It is protected by the constitution and its actions may not be questions unless proven ultra vires.

  • Chairman: Justice G N Ray

International Whaling Commission (IWC)

IWC is an international body set up in 1946 by the terms of the International Convention for the Regulation of Whaling (ICRW) to provide for the proper conservation of whale stocks. IWC has now become dominated by governments opposed to commercial whaling. Hence, in 1986 IWC adopted a moratorium on commercial whaling which still continues.

Defence Food Research Laboratory (DFRL)

DFRL is an Indian defence laboratory of the DRDO located established in 1961 in Mysore. It conducts research and development of technologies and products in the area of food science and technology to cater the varied food challenges for the Indian Armed Forces.

Developed by: