Competitive Exams: Political Science Study Material Planning Commission

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

Planning Commission

  • It was established on March 15,1950 by an executive resolution of the Government of India.
  • It was established on the recommendation of the Advisory Planning Board constituted in 1946. under the chairmanship of KC Neogi.
  • It is an extra-constitutional and a non-statutory body.
  • It is the supreme organ of planning for social and economic development in India. The Prime Minister of India is the ex-officio chairman of the Planning Commission. The Deputy Chairman is the de-facto executive head (i.e.. . Full time functional head) of the Commission.
  • The Deputy Chairman of the Commission is responsible for the formulation and submission of the draft of the Five-Year Plans to the Central Cabinet.
  • He is appointed by the Central Cabinet for a fixed tenure and enjoys the rank of a Cabinet Minister.
  • Though he is not a member of the Cabinet, he is invited to attend all its meetings (without a right to vote) . Some Central Ministers are appointed as a part-time members of the Commission. Finance Minister and Planning Minister are the ex-officio members of the Commission. The Commission has four to seven full-time expert members.
  • The full-time members enjoy the rank of a Minister of State.
  • The Planning Commission has a member-secretary. He is usually a senior member of IASL
  • The Planning Commission is wholly a Centre-constituted body, the State
  • Governments are not represented.
  • The Planning Evaluation Organisation (PEO) was established in 1952 as an independent unit of the Planning Commission.
  • Planning Commission works as a staff agency with advisory role.
  • It is also known as ‘Super Cabinet’ an ‘Economic Cabinet’ a ‘Parallel Cabinet’ the ‘Fifth wheel of the coach’ etc.
  • At present, Montak Singh Ahluwalia the Deputy Chairman of the Tenth Planning Commission.

Developed by: