Central University Jawaharlal Nehru University, JNU

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 136K)


Named after the first prime minister of India and established through an Act of Parliament in 1969, Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) is a premier institute of learning in the country. JNU's main focus is research and the postgraduate courses that it offers are therefore research-oriented. The objective behind the establishment of the institution was to have an educational body that promoted the study of principles of national integration, social justice, secularism, democratic way of life, international understanding and scientific approach in solving the society's complex problems.

There are some 4000 students pursuing different courses at the university alng with staff strength of around 500. The University has been organized into nine schools (these nine schools can have centers of their own) and four independent special centers.

A number of these centers like Center for Historical Studies, Center for the Study of Social Systems, Center for Political Studies, Center for Economic Studies and Planning, Center for the Study of Regional Development, all in the School of Social Sciences have been declared as centers of excellence.

The University truly resembles the Indian tradition and its vibrant culture. UGC has declared a number of centers at the University as Centers of Excellence. These centers impart education in several important fields. Annually, admission tests are held at 37 centers located across the country. Measures are taken to ensure that the students admitted represent a wide stratum of the society. Accordingly, underprivileged castes and ethnic groups have been given a 22.5 percent reservation.

International Associations at JNU

Jawaharlal Nehru University also has affiliated with international associations and memberships of reputed organizations in developing commonwealth countries. Besides, JNU has signed MOU with several educational institutions of repute. A list of such institutions is given as under:

  • San Luis National University, San Luis (Argentina)
  • Yerevan State University, Yereyan (Armenia)
  • University of Queensland, Brisbane (Australia)
  • University of New South Wales, Sydney (Australia)
  • The Australian National University, Canberra (Australia)
  • University of Salzburg, Salzburg (Austria)
  • The University of Waterloo, Ontario (Canada)
  • University of Lethbridge, Alberta (Canada)
  • Simon Fraser University, Burnaby (Canada)
  • Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris, Paris (France)
  • Institut de Recherche pour le Development (IRD), Paris (France)
  • University of Paris XII, Val De Marne (France)
  • Rennes 2 University, Rennes (France)
  • Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg (Germany)
  • Martin-Luther University, Halle-Wittenberg (Federal Republic of Germany)
  • Freie University, Berlin (Germany)
  • South Asia Institute, University of Heidelberg (Germany)
  • Azzahra University, Tehran (Iran)
  • University of Isfahan (Iran)
  • University of Sistan & Baluchestan (Iran)
  • Shahid Behasti University, Tehran (Iran)
  • Otani University, Kyoto (Japan),
  • Ritsumeikan University, Kyoto (Japan),
  • Daito Bunka University, Tokyo (Japan),
  • Waseda University, Tokyo (Japan),
  • The Nippon Foundation, Tokyo (Japan)
  • Euroasian National University, Astana (name after L. Gumilyev) (Republic of Kazakhastan)
  • Gyeongsang National University, Gyeongnam (Korea)
  • Dongguk University, Seoul (Korea)
  • University of Inchon, Republic of Korea, Inchon (Korea)
  • Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Seoul (Korea)
  • Pusan University of Foreign Studies, Pusan (Korea)
  • Chonnam National University, Kwangju (Korea)
  • Sunchon National University, Chonnam (Korea)
  • Korea University, Seoul (Korea)
  • Korea Foundation, Seoul (Korea)
  • Chungam National University, Taejon (Korea)
  • International University of Kyrghyzstan, Bishek (Kyrghyzstan)
  • National University of Mongolia Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)
  • University of Waikato, Hamilton (New-Zealand)
  • University of Bergen (Norway)
  • University of Philippines, Quezon City (Philippines)
  • M. V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow (Russia)
  • University of Navarra, Pamplona (Spain),
  • University of Valladolid, Valladolid (Spain)
  • University of Barcelona (Spain)
  • The Cervantes Institute (Spain)
  • Bandarnaike Center for International Studies (BCIS), Sri-Lanka
  • Ankara University, Ankara (Turkey).
  • The School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, London (UK)
  • Kyiv Trans Shevhenko University (Ukrain)
  • University of ILLINOIS, Champaign (USA)
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (USA),
  • Yale University New Heaven
  • George Washington University, Washington, DC (USA)
  • University of LOS ANDES, Merida (Venezuela)

Faculties at Jawaharlal Nehru University


  • Social Sciences
  • International Studies
  • Language, Literature and Culture Studies
  • Computer and Systems Sciences
  • Life Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Arts and Aesthetics
  • Information Technology

Special Centers at the JNU University

  • Center for Biotechnology
  • Special Center for Molecular medicine
  • Center for the Study of Law and Governance
  • Special Center for Sanskrit Studies

Colleges Affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru University

  • The National Defence Academy (NDA), Pune
  • The Army Cadet College (ACC), Dehra Dun
  • College of Military Engineering (CME), Pune
  • Military College of Electronics and Mechanical Engineering (MCEME), Secunderabad
  • Naval College of Engineering (NCE), INS Shivaji, Lonavla
  • Military College of Telecommunication Engineering (MCTE), Mhow
  • Centre for Development Studies (CDS), Trivandrum
  • Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad
  • National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi
  • C. V. Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
  • International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi
  • Institute of Microbial Technology, Chandigarh
  • Central Institute of Medicine and Aromatic Plants, Lucknow
  • Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi

JNU Admissions

Admission to JNU is tough in the sense that the number of seats at the university is numbered. Admission is strictly based on merit.

Under the reservation policy of the government, upto 22.5% seats have been reserved for SC/ST candidates and a further 3% have been allotted to physically challenged candidates.

JNU Entrance Exam

As per the objectives of the University, several initiatives have been taken to ensure that students from outside India join the university in required numbers. Also, the university strives to ensure that there is proper representation of each region of the country, especially the backward areas.

The admission process for different courses is different and is spread out over a long period of time. There are entrance tests for some courses while some have both entrance as well as viva voce.

Official Website of Jawaharlal Nehru University is JNU