Deemed Universities in India

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 122K)

As per the record of the Department of Higher Education, Government of India, there are more than 109 Deemed Universities in India today. The Central Govt of India, which establishes the Central Universities in India, are also entrusted with the responsibility of declaring an educational institution as a Deemed University, but only after recommendation of University Grant Commission (UGC) of India.

UGC is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining the standard of higher of education in India, after meeting which, an educational institute acquires the status of a Deemed University. UGC may also decide to fund some of these Deemed Universities.

The Deemed University status enables the educational institutes to design their own syllabus and course work. They also get the autonomy to set its own guidelines regarding admission and fees. Some of the Deemed Universities are also allowed to grant degrees on their own name. These Deemed Universities continue to perform well eventually to get the status of a full-fledged University.

List of Major Deemed University in India

  • Central Institute of English & Foreign Languages

  • Gujarat Vidyapith, Ahmedabad

  • Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Tirupati

  • Sardar Vallabhbai National Institute of Technology, Surat

  • BITS Meshra, Ranchi

  • Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

  • Manipal Academy of Higher Education

  • National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Science

  • Nava Nalanda Mahavihara

  • Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Pune

  • Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad

  • KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, JNMC Campus, Belgaum

  • Narsee Monjee Institute of Management Studies, Mumbai

  • National Institute of Technology, Calicut

  • Bharathi Vidyapeeth

  • Indira Gandhi Institute for Development Research, Goregaon

  • Institute of Armament Technology, Girinagar, Pune

  • Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth, Pune

  • Symbiosis International Education Center, Pune

  • Banasthali Vidyapith, Rajasthan

  • VIT, Tamil Nadu

  • KIIT, Bhubaneswar

  • Punjab Engineering College, Chandigarh

  • Homi Bhaba National Institute, Mumbai

  • Lakshmibai National College of Physical Education, Gwalior

  • Shobhit University, Meerut

  • Janardan Rai Nagar Vidyapeeth University

  • Sri Sathya Sai Institute Prasanthinilayam

  • Suman Deep Vidyapith, Gujarat

  • National Dairy Research Institute Karnal

  • International Institute of Information Technology Gachibowli, Hyderabad

  • National Brain Research Center, Nainwal More, Manesar

  • National Institute of Technology (NIT), Hamirpur

  • Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana

  • North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology

  • National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra

  • National Institute of Technology, Karnataka

  • National Institute of Technology (NIT), Jamshedpur

  • National Institute of Technology, Srinagar

  • National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli

  • National Institute of Technology, Warangal

  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

  • Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur

  • Avinashilingam Institute for Home Sciences and Higher Education for Women

  • Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Science

  • International Institute of Population Science

  • Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur

  • MGM Institute of Health Science

  • Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala

  • Dr. B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar

  • Central Institute of Fisheries Educations, Mumbai

  • Deccan College Post Graduage and Research Institute, Pune

  • National University of Educational Planning and Administration