National Institute of Technology (NIT), Hamirpur

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 124K)

Established as a Regional Engineering College, the National Institute of Technology (NIT), Hamirpur was founded due to combined initiative taken by the State and the Central Government in the year 1986. It has now replaced its previous tag of regional college as it is now a Deemed University as per the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act.

NIT Hamirpur runs courses and various programs in undergraduate, post graduate and doctoral fellowships in engineering, sciences and humanities. Apart from giving the best modern education, the primary objective of the institute is to inculcate in students good values and the power of working and serving as a team for the nation. It lays stress on developing brotherhood among its students by admitting candidates from all over India, though on the basis of merit.

Departments of NIT Hamirpur

The Institute of Hamirpur currently has the following Departments:

  • Computer Science & Engineering

  • Electronics and Communication Engineering

  • Civil Engineering

  • Mechanical Engineering

  • Electrical Engineering

  • Applied Sciences and Humanities


Admissions to the undergraduate courses are granted based on performance of the students in the All India Engineering Entrance Examination conducted by the CBSE Board. Scores of Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering or GATE are considered while providing admission in post-graduate programmes. The academic year starts in August and continues till the end of May every year.


Semester system has been adopted which consists of an odd and an even semester i.e.. Two semesters in one year. Successful completion of 8 semesters are required in the engineering stream to get a B. Tech degree while 10 semesters are to be completed in the architecture stream to get a B. Arch degree. For acquiring a post-graduate degree or M. Tech. Four semesters are required to be completed by candidates.

Post Graduation Courses

  • M. Tech. In Civil Engineering.

  • M. Tech. In Mechanical Engineering

  • M. Tech. In Electrical Engineering

  • M. Tech. Electronics & Communication Engineering (VLSI Design Automation & Techniques) jointly with Computer Science and Electronics Department.

  • Ph. D. In all the disciplines (Computer Sc. & Engineering, Electrical, Mechanical, Electronics & Communication Engineering (VLSI Design), Civil, App. Sc.)


  • Computer

  • Central Library

  • Boarding Facilities

  • Sports and Recreation

  • Health Care

Important Administrative Posts with Contact Nos and Emails