Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 127K)

Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana (VYASA), formerly known as Vivekananda Kendra Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana (VK YOGAS) came into being for the cause of popularizing yoga and making its benefits reach to the common people. Swami Vivekananda yoga Anusandhana Samsthana or SVYASA is the academic wing of VYASA. The institute aims at involving people in yoga so as to benefit them and this is done by following scientific methods of research. VYASA conducts scientific research for yoga in the fields of medical, education and other applications of yoga. Yoga can be used to relieve stress and hence is used in managing it. Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India has given SVYASA recognition of “Scientific & Industrial Research Organization (SIRO),” and the UGC has conferred the status of “Deemed University” on the institute.

Campus (Prasanti Kutiram)


  • Prashanti Kutiram, Giddenahalli, Kallabalu Post, Jigani Hobli, Anekal Taluk, Bangalore District
  • Ph: 78 − 25122/78 − 25385

Divisions and Departments

There are 5 divisions encomprising several departments, namely

  1. Division of Yoga and Spirituality

    1. Department of Sanskrit

    2. Department of Vedic Studies

    3. Department of Religious Studies

  2. Division of Yoga and Life Sciences

    1. Department of Health Sciences

    2. Department of Bio-Sciences

    3. Department of Natural Sciences

  3. Division of Yoga and Physical Sciences

    1. Department of Mathematics

    2. Department of Physics

    3. Department of Engineering

  4. Division of Yoga and Management Studies

    1. Department of Education

    2. Department of Management

  5. Division of Yoga and Humanities

    1. Department of Linguistics

    2. Department of Fine Arts

    3. Department of History, Sociology and Anthropology

Courses Offered

Short term, Long term & Master's & Ph. D courses are offered in SVYASA. The details are

Short Term Courses

  • Yoga Foundation Course (YFC) -Eligibility: 10 + 2, Duration: 1 month for residential & 3 months for non residential candidates.

  • Yoga Therapy Orientation training for Doctors (YTOT) -Eligibility: M. B. B. S & YFC, Duration: 1 trimester.

  • Yoga Intensive for Musicians (YIM),

  • Yoga Intensive for sportsmen (YIS)

  • Holistic System management (HOLYSM)

  • Self Management of Excessive tension (SMET)

  • Basic Course in Music (BCM)

  • Personality Development Camp (PDC)

  • Spiritual Retreat (SPR)

  • Yoga Intensive.

Long Term Course

  • Diploma in Yogic Science (DYSc), Eligibility: 10 + 2, Duration: 1 year

  • Diploma in Yoga Therapy (DYT), Eligibility: 10 + 2, Duration: 2 years.

  • B. Sc in Vedic Culture, Eligibility: 10 + 2, Duration: 3 years

  • B. Sc Yoga, Eligibility: 10 + 2, Duration: 3 years

  • Post Graduate diploma in Yoga Therapy (PGDYT), Eligibility: Graduation, Duration: 1 year

  • Post Graduate diploma in Yoga Therapy for doctors (PGYTD), Eligibility: Graduation & YFC, Duration: 1 year

Master's & Ph. D Courses

SVYASA has also a health home for maintaining, reintegrating and readapting health and curing diseases known as Arogyadhama. The facilities of this health home can be used by anyone.

  • M. Sc in Yoga, Eligibility: B. Sc yoga or graduation, duration: 2 years.

  • Doctor of medicine in yoga and rehabilitation (MD in Yoga & Rehabilitation), Eligibility: M. B. B. S, Duration: 3 years.

  • PhD Yoga

Contact Details of Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana

  • Headquarters: 19, Eknath Bhavan, Gavipuram Circle, Kempegowda Nagar, Bangalore-560 019.
  • Related Link: www.vyasa.org
  • Official Website: www.vit.ac.in